Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is considered by some population that art is an important course to be taught to students at school, while others think that it is not as important as other subjects such as science and mathematics are. In my opinion, art is a mandatory course to be studied at school. On the one hand, some parents do not support the idea of teaching art at school because they see that it is useless for their children, and they argue that the time spent in art classes every year could be more beneficial if used to teach other important subjects that can help students in their future. For example, giving more science and math classes which are more difficult for majority of students than other subjects are. People who support this opinion think that parents who feel that their children have the talent in any kind of art, can enrol their children in any after- school art classes. On the other hand, other parents, including myself believe that art was considered a hobby in old days but now they believe it is a mandatory course and important for all students to learn because art reflects the culture of the community and the country. Moreover, it helps teachers explore the talents of younger generation and find if they have any interest in art so that they work on improving their talents and skills. In addition to that, students can use their talent in art to do business during or after graduation from school. For instance, students who have painting talents can paint and sell their paintings, and poet writers can sell their poets. In conclusion, although views differ concerning teaching art at school, I would argue that it is mandatory because it reflects the culture of the nation and helps parents discover the talent of their children at early stages.