Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socialising online to meeting one another in person. Why do you think this is the case? What measures could be taken to encourage teenagers to spend more time meeting one another in person?

Based on recent studies, it is becoming increasingly common for young people who prefer online interaction to real socialisation these days. This situation happens due to the advancement in telecommunication technology. Moreover, parents can limit their screen time and add some communities among the places where youngsters live to support in-person meetings. In view of globalisation, communication technology has evolved. With this upgrade in this sector, people all around the world are connected and making friends becomes easier. Hence, teenagers can find new friends and create their own societies, leading them to dwell on the internet. For instance, they often meet teenagers who share the same interests yet live in different parts of the world and become friends with them through Instagram or Twitter (X). Parents and local neighbourhoods play important roles in tackling this problem. Firstly, parents, as guardians, should give teenagers an understanding of the use of social media and the importance of in-person meeting for their social development. Parents can also limit their screen time in order to encourage them to be more involved in some physical activities with people around their neighbourhood. Secondly, because most teenagers prefer to communicate with someone who shares the same interests as them, the local neighbourhood should provide them with some attractive places to interact, as well as some communities suitable for them, such as playgrounds and workshops. In conclusion, since the technological revolution began, online socialisation becomes more common, making young people choose to interact through the internet and slowly dissipate from real physical meetings. Therefore, parents should give them proper supervision and the local communities roles are also important.