Society is based on rules and law .If individuals were free to do whatever they wanted to do. It could not function. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Rules and law are compound things of any society. Were people to be free to do whatever they want to do it could not exist. I absolutely agree with this as, without boundaries, there will be chaos and degradation. First of all, people need limits and boundaries to create certain structures and hierarchy. It is almost impossible to design something solid and use it as a foundation without rules and laws. This is why any society that does not have rules is highly likely to be self-destroyed as such conditions are a great place for chaos. For instance, a building constructed ignoring laws and principles of engineering will be swept away by wind or will not be finished. Secondly, some actions should be under control as they can be dangerous to others. In other words, if a person could do anything he or she wants, a lot of murders, thefts and other violent actions would take place. Furthermore, many countries, including developed ones, would take many steps back returning to ancient times where physical strength is the main indicator of power. For example, ancient Rome was one of the most powerful and developed civilizations in history. However, as rules and laws in society started to disappear, the level of crime started to rise at a fast pace weakening the whole empire. In conclusion, I fully agree that any society, based on rules and laws, would not function if people could do whatever they want. It would cause utter chaos and mass degradation that would revert any progress.