In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. 🔸What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In some societies, children are often advised that in order to reach any goal, they should work intensively. Although this belief has some benefits, the drawbacks cannot be neglected. In this essay, both of them will be discussed. These days more and more children are encouraged to work harder to reach their objectives. In this fast-paced era, life is more complex than before. The speed of life forces individuals to take appropriate and immediate actions on their plans. Therefore, youngsters who make extra endeavours and do not stop trying hard would be more successful in their life. For example, many famous people like Bill Gates told that he had studied and worked efficiently more than eight hours per day for his aims. As a result, he has achieved his goals faster than some of his classmates consequently. Secondly, making good plans and following them would prohibit children from getting bored and laziness. In this way, they are more self-determined for the rest of life. On the other hand, advising children to work hard would result in having much stress. Setting too many goals in schools and persuading them to get high scores or win a match makes them more anxious. For instance, there are many champions and professional surgeons who complain about being nervous due to overworking during school time. Furthermore, some youngsters do not have enough talent or are unwilling to accomplish every task. So, motivating them to reach any goal in any way makes them depressed. It means that those who could not accomplish their objectives despite further efforts would tend to commit suicide after failure. I think it has a serious effect on the whole society. In conclusion, although this attitude and culture of telling the youth that by working hard they can fulfil their aims would have some advantages, it can be led to anxiety if they do not pay attention enough to their health both mentally and physically.