The users of social media, such as Facebook, Twitter, are replacing face-to-face contact in this century. Do you think the advantages of this way outweigh the disadvatages?

In recent decades, real-life interaction has been replaced with social networks. This essay will argue that despite the opportunity to be in touch with friends and family, the deterioration of communication skills means that the disadvantages far outweigh the advantages. These technological advancements allow people to be in contact over long distances. Take, for example, international students who are studying at a university in a foreign country because there is no good third-level education in their motherland. In order to get mental support, these young people chat with their parents daily through networking via video or audio calls. However, I do not think that these right set of circumstances should be seen as a major advantage of life because they may result in the loss of certain soft skills in the long run. On the negative side, replacing face-to-face contact may lead to the degradation of communication skills. A person who connects with other humans only on social media will gradually forget how to properly talk in real life, where there is no chance to deflact what you say. This can result in low self-esteem, loneliness, or depression. For instance, the survey conducted in the hospitalization center for teenagers in the USA revealed that 37% of patients who attempted suicide were isolated from the real world in the past. I think that risks like these are extremely important because they can be life-changing. In conclusion, although using a public network instead can give a chance to connect with loved ones from far distances, I believe this upside is greatly outweighed by the downside that the replacement may lead to a loss of skill, which is crucial for life.