With the rise of e-books comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

In recent years, technology has drastically changed the way we live. It has become a prominent part of our daily routine. From cooking food to conducting office meetings, this advancement has been beneficial for everyone. In the same way, the manner of reading books has shifted from material ones to online mode. This essay discusses the pros and cons of this development followed by opinion. Firstly, with the advent of internet reading, there has been a positive impact on the forests. The deforestation has reduced since physical printing of books is not required. Moreover, e- books are easy to access and save time. For instance, to travel light, people usually avoid taking books with them as they consume too much space. However, with e- books, a person can look through any book at any time from their electronic devices. On the contrary, reading e- books for long hours puts strain on the eyes and can affect them severely. Additionally, the major shortcoming of e- books is that they are dependent on the charging status of the gadget. If the battery of a mobile or laptop is low, then an individual cannot read. Furthermore, if everybody switches to e- books, then the economy of a country will also be adversely affected. For example, the local businesses will have to shut down as they would lose their customers and earn nothing. In my opinion, e- books are a good invention however, pocketbooks have their own significance. The pleasure that peeps get by reading from a tangible book cannot be experienced through e- books. The culture of hardcover books should be maintained and continued in the future. To conclude, it depends on a human's preference of the way of reading, be it a book or an e-book. Society should try to preserve an equilibrium between the two so that none of them loses their noteworthiness.