Some people say that economic development is necessary to reduce poverty in the world. Others say that economic growth should be stopped as it damages the environment. Discuss both views.

In this era, every country of the world is striving for achieving higher standards of economic growth. Many individuals support this phenomenon as they consider it necessary to eradicate impoverishment while others oppose this practice due to its detrimental impacts on the ecosystem. I support the former group of society and will discuss why in this essay. Those, who are against the development of different sectors of the economy, argue that it leads to the depletion of nature. An increasing number of industries in a country will require the use of natural resources in vast quantity such as fossil fuel, natural oil and wood. Therefore, its extensive utilization will not only result in their extinction but also leads to numerous environmental issues such as pollution, deforestation and an increase in greenhouse gases. Hence, in order to prevent the destruction of the earth, communals do not prefer industrialization. In contrast to this, a section of society agrees with the concept of economic growth because of improved living conditions. If more factories and manufacturing concerns are to be established in a nation, then its people will be provided with abundant employment opportunities to work there enabling every person to earn a living and ultimately, there will be no poverty in a province. Thus, the development of the economy will result in a better standard for individuals. I personally believe that economic boom is necessary for the rising in the wealth of any nation with the expansion of production of goods and services, exportation opportunities will also go up leading to incoming of foreign currency into the home rustic. Such an amount can be used for the improvement of existing infrastructure and further innovations. To conclude, in my view, economic affluence is crucial for eliminating poverty in a nation and for the betterment of the status of people. However, it should be carried out in such a way so as to avoid its harmful effects on nature thereby reducing excessive use of natural resources.