Some people believe that History should not be taught as a subject anymore because it is already old and outdated. Others think that is should still be kept. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Although it has been suggested that teachers ought not to pass on any historical information to students at school owing to its historic and ancient, other people argue that history also should be a subject nowadays. I agree with the second idea as learning history is beneficial for a student’s learning efficiency and effectiveness. On the one hand, some people who present that educated workers should not look at history as a subject believe that spending time teaching history wastes precious time and resources. The reason is that all contents which are documented in history are past things such as past generations’ behaviours and thoughts, which is no longer useful and no meaning in current life. For instance, individuals who are learning at school are told that how their ancestors discovered plants or created telephones. That information is disconnected from our current situations, thus learning that ridiculous knowledge is a waste of their time and energies. On the other hand, some individuals, including me, say being taught history is a good way to increase learners’ academic performance. This is because some subjects like biology are extremely complex and tedious, if students spend a great deal of their time on those subjects, their concentrations and enthusiasms for learning would be reduced, thus impairing their efficiency. By contrast, their mind will take a break and become more refreshed when they are studying history. As an illustration, history is a compulsory subject in china since secondary school. Most Chinese pupils are convinced that having a history class provides them with a good chance to escape from excessively difficult projects, which gives them a period of time to have a rest, thus contributing to their comprehension of other knowledge. In conclusion, although people vary in their opinions about whether history should be given up as a subject or not, I am of the opinion that students still need to learn history as it has a massive upside on their academia.