In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Rural-to-urban migration has recently decreased the population of the suburbs worldwide. While some may see it as progress this can lead to many negative consequences for both rural and urban residents. The main resources of food and agricultural products are primarily provided by rural inhabitants who work as livestock and crop farmers. That is, the more lands abandoned by farmers, the more food insecurities and economic issues threaten society. The reduced amount of agricultural and livestock production not only increases the food costs but also leads to more demand for food imports. What is more, the invaluable traditions and local cultures can gradually disappear by this rural life getting destroyed. The new generation of migrants will easily get accustomed to urban life and therefore, they will barely remember the culture and attitudes of their rural ancestors. On the other hand, the increased population in cities can inevitably have sophisticated complications in different aspects namely, education, health care and some urban infrastructures. The overcrowding of urban areas demands more space for housing and also increases air pollution. Moreover, if the population of an area rises, it will be prone to the risk of some social issues such as higher levels of crime and unemployment. These examples merely scratch the surface of the complex problem being discussed and can hardly demonstrate the negative outcomes of this. In conclusion, the decline of the countryside population due to rural people moving to the cities has significant social and economic consequences. Therefore, I believe it is a negative development that should be addressed through better policies to balance rural and urban growth.