Some people hold the opinion that children should obey certain rules made by teachers and parents. Others, however, feel that these rules only limit children’s growth and impact their adult life later. Discuss both opinions and provide your own view.

Since time immemorial, different guidelines and rules have been being established by the guardians and teachers of children in order to lead their life smoothly, bringing some negative repercussions as well. Resultantly, whereas some individuals claim that these rules have detrimental effects on children ’s present and future lives, others contend that they should abide by rules, enforced by their well-wishers so as to bring success in their lives. I, too, wholeheartedly feel that parent’s and teachers’ guidance would help children remove obstacles during their life journey and build a successful career. Draconian rule, made by the patrons of offspring sometimes have serious consequences on children ’s mental growth down to not having equal ability to adapt, causing problems in the adult age also. To be more precise, a law or rule is created for all, but the adaptation capability is not the same for all children. Thus when a child cannot adjust to a rule, he or she usually suffers from inferiority, and this type of thinking later causes many problems, namely, shyness, not open to the public easily, to name but a few in the career life. To cite an example, an empirical study in 20010 reveals that 20% of professionals cannot do well in their job in that they cannot express themselves properly, and those professionals’ mental growth has not been developed due to the strict rules in their childhood. Plausible though abiding by rules is not easy and have some downsides, it can be solved by proper counselling. If once a child understands the benefits of guidelines, he or she surely abides by those rules spontaneously. In other words, inasmuch as rules are made for the well-being of children, it is imperative to make them comprehend that those guidelines will lead to fulfilling their dreams in lives. To exemplify, in Japan, when a new rule is imposed, the merits of that rule is clearly manifested to students so that they can easily accept that. Hence, children should obviously obey rules made by their patrons. In essence, even though strict rules contain the mental growth of a child, it can be mitigated by proper counselling that can bring success in later life. Eventually, I buttress the stand of obeying rules by children so as to bring prosperity in their life.