In many societies in the world, the population is ageing rapidly and this is leading to an unsustainable increase in the cost of public healthcare. A nation’s population should pay for their healthcare provision in the future. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Health is one of the basic need of every human and the majority of countries have the policies to fully take care of all the health requirements of their population. However, with the advent of modern health care technology, increasing age is considered a burden on the budget and many lawmakers are talking against it nowadays. They opined that nation should pay themselves for this service or should pay heavy taxes at a young age to utilise this facility. I strongly opposed this opinion and firmly believe that this is a basic right of every person to enjoy high standard medical facilities at every age. Firstly, as we all know, it is the common man who works day and night to build up the country's economy from early ages. Moreover, he pays heavy taxes to make the country a better place to live and stays abide by the law. All this, he does for the betterment of the State, so definitely it's the duty of the government to take care of him in his old age. Secondly, a country is founded and then run and prosper through the hard work of its people and not by itself. The development of the population is considered to be the development of the country. If any state failed to contribute to the development of its people, it will be considered a failure of the country. No one can snatch this basic necessity from old age people. In a nutshell, it is the right of every citizen to have accessibility to the best of all health care facilities and it should be available to them from the first day of their life to their last day. There should be no doubt that this old population is our asset who had long served our country and should be given its share.