Some people today believe that it is acceptable to use physical force to discipline children, but others feel it is completely unacceptable. Discuss this view and give your opinion.

It is true that disruptive discipline has a detrimental effect on students' academic achievements. While some people believe that physical punishment can be a good mean to discipline, others assert that corporal punishment should be banned. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument and explain my support of the latter view. Convincing arguments can be made that corporal punishment has a number of disadvantages. Firstly, children should feel safe in their learning environment. More specifically, children are very vulnerable to an external impact, if they get frequently hit by teachers their curiosity and desire to learn may be replaced by negative emotions such as fear and loathe. Consequently, children may not want to go to school, or even worse, get mental issues. For example, when I was studying at school our math teacher used to spank us or hit us with chalk for our mistakes. Over time, instead of getting better at math, all the students started hating math and the teacher. On the other hand, physical punishments can be extremely effective to stop misbehaviours. Children, after getting punished will think twice before doing something bad. Even so, in the longer run, these children will be adults with personality complexes. As an example, psychologists always find root causes for mental issues in childhood. To sum up, I would concede that corporal punishment may be effective in discipline children in no time; however, it can adversely affect students' mental health. Therefore, I strongly believe that corporal punishments should be completely unacceptable at schools.