International tourism has brought enormous benefits to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this globalized world, many governments are making effort to invite foreign tourists because they believe the visitors will bring benefits and a beneficial impact. However, some citizens disputing the idea because there will be some problems. In the following essay, I would argue both sides and state that I incline to think the advantages exceed the drawbacks. First of all, there will be profits not only on the country’s economy. Since the visitors spend a lot of money by using transportations, staying in hotels, buying many souvenirs, the nation can benefit from that. In Japan, for example, there were many Chinese tourists before the pandemic and they bought a plethora of Japanese home electrical appliances and this had a significant impact on the Japanese economy. Second of all, on the other hand, it is also true that the travellers would be troublesome in a certain way because there is a gap in language and culture. For instance, the Chinese travellers were sometimes problematic because their manner was inappropriate. They went into places where they were not allowed to go without shoes and left a lot of food at restaurants. However, the former occurred because of miscommunication and the latter happened because actually, it is a polite attitude in their culture. To sum up, international tourism might be problematic sometimes but there will be some solution. In my conclusion, I believe that the benefits of international tourism might overweigh the drawbacks because the profit is large, and there will be some way to tackle an issue for the troublesome travellers.