Nowadays, animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Experimentation on living creatures is common practice in today’s scientific community. Thousands of laboratories around the world use animals such as monkeys and rats to test drugs and other products. The reason for this is that human trials are too risky but the benefits can be great. Although there is truth in the unethical aspect of animal testing, I believe the greater good for humanity justifies this need. Animal rights activists around the world apply pressure on the government to ban animal testing. In many,cases the probe done on the creature inflicts great pain and suffering. Often these poor creatures are kept in small cages in closed rooms. They are injected with all types of chemicals and dissected for results. For instance, a research centre in the US was dissecting dogs to see what effects a new type of AIDS medication had. The people in the neighbourhood complained of hearing terrible noises all day. This type of suffering should not be allowed and goes against ethics. Nevertheless, nowadays there are strict regulations to minimize the suffering of a pet in research. It is proven that animal experimentation results in numerous positives for human health and quality of life. Every year there are dozens of medical breakthroughs coming from science centres that use animals for analysis. For example, two years ago researchers discovered a new type of insulin while testing on mice, and this wonder drug helped to save my cousin's life. Clearly, for this reason alone, I am in the belief that animal testing should be allowed in society. In conclusion, there is a hot debate about whether or not animal testing is ethically acceptable in society. Although there are good reasons to ban animal research, I do strongly believe that testing on animals is crucial for human survival. In the end, people need to decide if it is okay for humans to suffer instead of animals.