Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

There is a growing concern relating to the target and purpose of the government’s progress. Some of the opinion think that the economic contribution is more important and should be highlighted within the institutions. However, others argue that other progress like the human development index is as important as the former statement. This essay agrees more with the latter stance, as people’s prosperity and safety have to be maintained. Authorities usually report the economic growth and conditions to the public and legislative chairs as a legitimate to increase the government’s annual budget and spending for programs and projects. Another point of view is related to the resident’s wealth and business environment, where the positive impact of growing economic conditions is triggering the expansion of industrial and small-scale entrepreneurs, gaining more trust in the executive chamber. This action could impact the recruitment and investment process, thus allowing the workforce to receive more income and resulting in reducing the lower-income groups and unemployment. Countries like China and the United States often express their economic progress and improvement to gain the trust of investors and businesses. However, the public is criticizing how authorities neglect the improvement of non-economic sectors, as the ultimate purpose of the country should be increasing the citizen’s well-being, stability, and sustainable development. The government should also focus on improving the quality of basic infrastructure and amenities, such as education, medical, transportation, and public officials. They should also gather their resources to stabilise political conditions without violating the democratic ideology and rights. Another point to mention is the policy should contain the goals of sustainable development to reduce pollution and environmental destruction for future generations. European countries like Sweden and the Netherlands are deeply embraced and concerned with this issue and implemented their policy for public equality and rights. In conclusion, while individuals, especially the official stakeholders mainly benefit from the revenue generated by the macroeconomic cycle, they should not ignore that the retribution should be shared among others in the form of infrastructure or public workers. The annual goals should accommodate the needs of their people while still positively maintaining economic growth.