Nowadays many people choose ready-made food and refuse to cook at home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a choice?

Ready-made food nowadays seems to be more attractive to people that results in their refusal to cook at home. While some opponents argue that such a choice has demerits, personally, I believe that it also has merits. There are two major reasons why ready-made food is considered having disadvantages. Firstly, while food from home is regarded as fresh and nutritious, ready-made food is believed to not guarantee its quality for providing with fast food, oily food or leftovers; therefore, it can deteriorate consumers’ health as they use low-quality products. Secondly, ordering ready-made food is slightly time -consuming since people have to wait for more than a half of an hour on average to receive food, especially during the peak hours, not to mention the shipping fee is normally high, so this meal is more expensive than food from home. However, choosing ready-made food over cooking at home also has some advantages. On the one hand, nowadays, people have to focus on their economy by working efficiently; for example, restaurants should attempt to prepare delicious and nutritious products for their consumers to gain reputation and make interests, so that food of low quality is rare and people can still have good meals. In contrast, towards hectic workers, cooking at home is sometimes a waste of time. On the other hand, although the shipping time and fee may cause some inconveniences, people can make use of that time to handle other tasks and accomplish work. Especially in large cities, citizens face heavy workloads with full of deadlines; therefore, if they can replace the time for cooking with the time for working, they can still earn a living as well as save their time, so those inconveniences are just trivial matters. In conclusion, although ready-made food seems to be of low quality, as well as time -consuming and expensive, its advantages regarding workers and consumers should not be overlooked.