In many countries children are engaged in some kind of paid work. Some people regard this as completely wrong, while others consider it as valuable work experience, important for learning and taking responsibility. What are your opinions on this?

Nobody can deny that some careers are valuable for children, at least in cases in which they can gain experiences and be paid reasonably. However, it is by no means clear that children should be encouraged to have a job. This essay will discuss both of these facets as well as present my own opinion. On the one hand, doing jobs at a young age allows financial independence. This means that children will no longer have to rely solely on their parents or guardians as they will be able to afford their daily life by themselves, reducing financial burdens such as university funding on their parents. In addition to this, these children will advance swiftly in their chosen career paths. Working for an establishment at younger age tends to make them know within that company and therefore employable subsequently such that in a case they go back to complete their studies and after graduation, they already have greater chances to be employed back to that company. On the other hand, paid employment for adolescents could make them lose control on spending. This is because unlimited access to money can promote buying unawareness, hence impaired saving culture. For instance, a survey in a popular university showed that the majority of those students that drive luxury cars are not those from wealthy backgrounds, instead those that worked at younger ages while growing up. Secondly, should those children keep making an effort on their work, their education will be under-performed. Most times, they have to work while studying and this could lead to reduced attention span in matters relating to their studies, subsequently, they may feel bored in learning and give up. In my opinion, I agree that children should completely concentrate on their studies instead of working as it's crucial for their future.