Technology has developed very fast over the past 100 years. However, some people think that technological progress has brought negative effects on the humanity. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In this day and age, more and more arguments have been placed on the opinion that in the last century, the accelerating development of technological breakthroughs has given rise to serious repercussions for mankind. From my perspective, I do not subscribe to this school of thought. Granted, one might argue that technological advances such as the advent of smartphones have had adverse effects on people’s health. This is predicated on the assumption that due to the attraction of the virtual world on social networking sites like Facebook or Instagram as well as other utilities on smartphones, people can constantly keep their eyes glued to those devices’ screen for many hours. As a result, this renders them more susceptible to many diseases such as obesity and eyestrains. However, this line of reasoning is not compelling because the majority of people are fully aware of the consequences of being addicted to using smartphones. Therefore, whether changing this bad habit or not is depending on them in lieu of considering smartphones the prime culprit causing obesity and eyestrains. I strongly believe that technological progress has brought more positive effects than negative ones on humanity. To be more specific, satellite technology offers the opportunity, as never before, for continuous television coverage of major international events, meeting the people’s demand for entertainment after facing the huge pressure from their work or study. In addition, the proliferation of the Internet has facilitated teleworking and virtual learning, providing a wide range of job and educational opportunities for any individual and during the Covid 19 pandemic, this facilitation is more transparent than ever. In conclusion, with all the reasons mentioned above, I suppose that technological advances should not be to blame for having negative consequences on humanity.