Cycling has many benefits, yet in some countries , there is a decrease in the number of people using bicycles as their main form of transportation . Why is it happening? Give suggestions on how to encourage people to use bicycles again.

In the recent past, many people were having cycles as personal transport. Though cycling has several advantages, still the number of cyclers is declining in some countries due to an increasing influx of other smart alternatives. In this essay, I will examine why these numbers are reducing and how people can be motivated again to use bicycles. Generally speaking, there are several reasons why people switch to alternative transports in certain countries. Perhaps the main cause is time-saving because in recent times everybody is running behind the clock. For example, the person, who is working in a logistics department, to match the delivery schedule he has to run behind the delivery program and, to achieve this target he has no other choice except to reduce the time for his movement. Therefore people go for public transport or private car, eventually giving up own cycle. A further point, that could be added which contributing towards decreasing the number of bicyclists is that the roads are not designed to have a safe journey. We can take the example of few developing countries where road construction works are everyday phenomena. As a result, no safe movement and lose interest to come out with his favorite cycle. In an effort, to inspire people to use bicycles there are ways but to be patient to achieve the goal. Firstly, politicians or city leaders could come up with awareness programs through various advertisements, fairs, play cards and, so on showing health benefits which may contribute to reviving the energy for coming out with bicycles. Secondly, introducing tax exemptions if citizens contributing towards achieving a greener city and reduce emissions of hydrocarbon. In conclusion, I would like to mention that, though cycling has several good outcomes for health and environments, still due to dramatic change of our lifestyles, seems to be very difficult to bring back cycler on the street again.