despite a variety of sports facilities and gyms, people are less fit nowadays more than ever before. what do you think are the main causes of this problem? what solutions can you suggest?

People nowadays are becoming less fit even though the presence of sports facilities and gymnasiums are seen everywhere. There are different factors causing it and it will be discussed in this essay. The first reason people are less fit today is due to a sedentary lifestyle. Most people prefer to just stay home during their leisure hours and spend it watching television shows instead of visiting sports facilities. This kind of lifestyle weakens the body and lowers the metabolism that results in obesity. Secondly, people prioritize their career more than their own health. We live in a competitive world and an extended amount of time is usually spent at work. Consequently, people lack enough time and energy to spend on improving their physical health. For example, regular employees aiming for promotion takes over time as a sign of hard work. Therefore, the remaining hours left on their day are spent for sleeping only and dropping by the gym is at the least of their priority. On the other hand, there are some ways to encourage people to be physically fit. Firstly, since most people are glued to their television screen, the government should educate the public about the importance of exercise through advertisement. This is an effective way to promote awareness to everyone. Thus, this might encourage them to be involved in any sports that can help them attain a stronger body. Secondly, companies should minimize the working hours of their employees and taking overtime must be banned. In this way, workers will be forced to take rest early and perhaps, they can finally dedicate enough time for any sports or physical activities they like. In my conclusion, a sedentary lifestyle and a busy work life are the main causes why people nowadays are less fit. However, this can be prevented by the government’s active awareness campaign and by the company’s effort to shorten the working hours.