Some expert believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary. Do the advantage of this outweigh the disadvantage

It is a commonly held belief that learning a foreign language from early childhood is better than starting the learning process in later years of school. In this essay we will discuss how this proposition of early learning is advantageous over starting late. The most prominent benefit of starting learning a foreign language at a young age in primary school is that the young minds are more impressionable. English is the most commonly taught foreign language in all schools across the country. Many schools start with the learning process as early as the kindergarten. The reason behind this is that English has become a global language now. All international companies and agencies communicate with their employees in English. Hence, a strong control over spoken, written and reading aspects of the dialect is mandatory. For example, companies like TISCO, Genpact, Philips etc. run their call centers all over the globe and bank upon a common medium of communication with all employees. On the other hand, the flip side of this practice can be a creating a wider gap between the native language and culture. For instance, in India, Hindi is the national language and is introduced along with a foreign language in schools from nursery classes uptill standard ten, thereafter, Hindi is discontinued and English continues to be the medium of education in secondary school and college. By the time students complete their bachelor's degree they become distant from Hindi and more conversant with English. This also leads to a cultural gap between the younger generations. To conclude, it can be said that the pros of learning the foreign language from a younger age certainly outweigh the cons since good control over a foreign medium of communication creates better job opportunities and has more proactical benefits.