The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last 10 years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend

In recent years, overweight among children has become a pressing concern as it significantly affects physical and mental health and requires immediate attention. This essay will explore the main reasons behind the increase in obesity and propose effective solutions to address it. There are several key reasons why obesity has emerged as a significant problem. One of the primary causes is a sedentary lifestyle. Technology especially the internet has enabled children to utilise an enormous amount of time on social media or while playing games. For instance, children from Pacific Island states are more suffering from obesity because of their high prevalence on the internet and less involvement in physical activity. Additionally, another major cause is the availability of junk food. This factor leads to obesity and several health diseases as they consume more fast food in their daily lives. Even parents are also giving more preference to eating food outside. To tackle this issue, several effective solutions can be implemented. One potential solution is getting offspring engaged more in physical activities. This approach would reduce the impact of mobile screens on their mental health and eyesight. For example, offspring who are more involved in games or other physical activities have sharper brains and remain active. Another possible solution is making parents aware of the detrimental impact of using mobile phones on their mental health and eyes. This would be particularly effective as it lessens the usage of mobile phones in daily life. In conclusion, being overweight in children stems from fast food and higher use of the internet and has led to poor mental health. However, by implementing solutions such as more engagement in physical activities and awareness about the deteriorating impact of screens on the eyes, it is possible to mitigate this issue.