It seems clear that obesity in today’s society is to some extent due to the availability of fast food. Should governments place a tax on fast food to reduce the amount of fast food consumed?

In our modern-day society, obesity is becoming an alarming issue being widely spread and discussed. Clearly, one of the obesity reasons is fast food consumption. Some people suggest that governments should introduce higher taxes for quick services in order to reduce pre-cooked meal consumption. Personally, I believe that this is a sound idea. It is proven that there is a clear link between junk food and human's well-being. One of the reasons for people eating pre-cooked food is that it is cheap and time-saving. For example, a salad would cost twice more expensive than a hamburger. Therefore, introduced taxes would be very efficient to prevent unhealthy eating habits. As a result, people would be encouraged to buy fresh vegetables and cook at home, as it would be a more cost-effective option. Additionally, fast food is extremely harmful not only to health but also to the environment. The reason for this is that people also pay for numerous plastic bags and containers while buying their dinner or lunch. As we can see, less consumption of pre-cooked food will have a conducive effect on the environment as well. For instance, people will make less waste when start eating food at home. To sum up, fast-foods can be very cost-efficient for young people; however, overconsumption may have a detrimental effect on human being's health. Overall, in my view, increased taxes for fast food can be very effective to address obesity and other health-related issues. After all, as the saying goes "health is our greatest wealth and asset".