Some people think crimes are the result of circumstances like poverty and other social problems. Others believe that they are caused by people who are bad in nature. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Several factors may be taken into consideration when people talk about why do prisoners commit crimes, such as social inequality, economic crisis, life experience and so on. In my opinion, the motivation of crime includes not only social problems, but also human nature. The high crime rates in cities are usually regarded as the consequence of acute social contradiction in salaries, living conditions, social welfare and so on. The gap between the upper class and the poor is growing deeper, which leads to fragmentation and antisocial activities. It is widely believed that the homeless, mentally ill and those who are down on their luck are more likely to commit crimes. Poor individuals usually live a very hard life and the tragic situations may breed hatred and anger. What is more, compared with general people the cost of crime for them is lower, because most of them are unemployed and they also don’t have much concern about their family However, human nature cannot be ignored; that is to say, some people are born more prone to commit crimes because of their genes. Therefore, those persons have weak empathy and behave indifferently, which means that they have a lower sense of morality and self-discipline compared with ordinary people, especially when they have lawless or scary thoughts. Professors in human biology or medical science once claimed that those people with some particular genes are more possible to grow up as potential criminals if they never receive proper guidance and education. This circumstance is very common in antisocial crimes. In conclusion, my view is that social issues, such as poverty and social stratification, may lead to a higher crime rate. Nevertheless, we should also pay attention to human nature and try to build a more harmonious society.