The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken legally. What are the advantages and disadvantages of learning one language in the world?

Tourism is important factor for a country’s economy, which attracts people from all over the world. English has been considered/developed into the most important language in the world where a few sections of society opine that English is the only language to be spoken lawfully. In this essay, we will discuss about both advantages and drawbacks of having one language in the world. To begin with, considering English as the only means of communication to be used legitimately has proven to be beneficial to all countries in many ways. Moreover, it helps in communicating effectively and sharing information about businesses, resources and their ideas which lead to economy growth. For instance, China has lot of resources which attract many countries to exchange goods. It not only connects people but also maintain friendly relations with foreign countries and make peace with them. At this point, tourism is a social, cultural and economical phenomenon where country’s revenue will be raised. However, English trending as global system of communication can be detrimental for all other languages which will come to an extinction. Eventually, it will cause a natural death of the culture and vernacular language of that region and country. For example, tourism has no meaning if it cannot showcase its culture with local language and unable to portray its heritage. In conclusion, being an evident benefit of English becoming universal language leads to global growth, but it also has its disadvantages that it doesn’t incorporate the customs which are preserved by ancestors to inherit.