Some people believe that in the near future there will be no borders between countries, while others feel that national borders will always remain. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Some people claim that in the next coming years borders will be abolished, whereas, some others argue that boundaries between nations will stay forever. I partially agree with the former, as limits are getting somehow useless. In the next paragraphs, both sides of the topic will be analysed and discussed. On one hand, limits between countries were created to delimitate what areas were ruled by whom, it was a method to divide the land and take advantage of the resources available. This is the way that we know are we are used to. For instance, boundaries are needed to calculate what portion of the sea can be exploited by one nation, in this case, borders are useful. However, beyond economics, barriers among people need to be taken down. On the other hand, from my point of view, the main reason to keep these borders is related to security and homeland defence. No country wants criminals and smugglers in their lands. Border controls are meant to stop non-desirable people. To illustrate my point, the limits between USA and Mexico can perfectly be the most militarized areas of the world and their principal objective is to avoid drugs and illegal workers from trespass. These situations can be avoided just by alleviating the root problems such as the consumption of cocaine in some countries, or developing the poorest economies to eliminate working migrants. To summarise, even though borders were useful and still play a role in the current world. It can be said that if some issues were solved, frontiers would soon become useless. I strongly believe that the day in which boundaries are eradicated will arrive sooner because they will lose their purpose.