Nowadays many people want to buy famous brands of clothes, cars and other items, what are the reasons for this, do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Purchasing trending objects despite their extortionate prices is a common action in our society. The paragraphs below will discuss this statement, explaining the reasons that lead to this situation and, then, I will give my opinion, evidencing why I consider the downsides stronger. To begin with, the main reason why I believe individuals are acquiring trending brands is because they are trying to stand out socially. Plenty of people consider having the moment purse or smartphone, important to maintain the status quo. For instance, buying exquisite garments and jewellery make individuals feel rich and part of the high society, working as a way to improve their self-esteem. Moreover, these items play a role in making one feel updated towards the moment acquisitions that everyone should have, not staying behind. However, I strongly consider that this situation has more drawbacks than upsides. People need to be aware of the possible negative effects. For instance, owning trending objects can become an addiction, making the individual buy things they do not necessarily need or that there are not a personal will. Furthermore, another motive to justify this notion is the fact that the more people buy, the higher the price will be, following the supply-and-demand model. Therefore, one could have monetary debt in order to keep an updated style or a new car. To summarize, our society is always trying to maintain a status quo to not feel underestimated by others. Although, I believe this habit insistence can cause financial problems and mental illnesses such as dependence.