Social media is becoming increasingly popular among all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think advantages of social media outweigh the advantages ?

It is true that the internet and computers are becoming ubiquitous with the development of technology. Particularly, social media such as Facebook, Instagram, Linkedin are getting incredibly popular among the population. However, this trend has a number of drawbacks together with advantages. Subsequently, different people have different opinions on the debatable topic. When we look at positive aspects of social media we find numerous advantages. First and foremost it can be a great platform to study and share knowledge. For instance, on Pinterest people share different DIYs and encourage others to be creative. Additionally, students at schools and universities can learn their subjects through the network. Secondly, social media brings people closer to each other; thus, distance is not a problem anymore. Thirdly, young people can use professional platforms such as Linkedin to showcase their abilities and experience to find a job. On the other hand, social media can detrimentally affect individuals. This is mainly because people share all their personal information with the web pages during registration. Moreover, people post photos of their life events. Consequently, they can become victims of cybercrimes and personality thefts. Another negative side of social media is that it is very addictive. For example, young people go online as soon as they get time, and instead of learning something useful children waste their time surfing the net. In short, if the internet and social media are misused it can have grave consequences. Rather than that, I believe that social media offers numerous conveniences. After all, everything depends on the user and his/her intention.