Social media, such as Facebook, Twitter, are replacing face-to-face contact in this century. Do you think the advantages of this way outweigh the disadvantages?

The issue of contacting through social media is enjoying popularity in recent years. This situation has surely brought about both benefits and drawbacks, which are discussed in this essay. On the one hand, people have a tendency to use Facebook and Twitter to communicate in our modern life. One obvious benefit of this is that when we are away from relatives, we can use Facebook to chat, call video or post photos whenever we want and wherever we are. Therefore, contact through social media is useful for those who are often away from their relatives. Besides, during the period of Covid disease, we must stay home to avoid infecting. Indeed, students can learn online through Zoom, officers have a meeting through Microsoft instead of face-to-face contact. On the other hand, communication on social media also brings about various drawbacks. Firstly, we are in front of a screen all day to work and study, which can cause us eye-sighted, for example. Secondly, people contacting together via a screen will not see the emotion of partners. To be more specific, when calling a video to a friend to share about stories, we can not witness what she felt to console her. This prime example proves that contacting on social media is not good as face-to-face. In conclusion, although communication on social media instead of face-to-face has both benefits and drawbacks, contacting through social media will brings advantages that outweigh the disadvantages