Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The importance of knowing foreign languages cannot be denied. Hence, some people believe that foreign language lessons should be introduced in primary classes rather than secondary. In this essay, I will discuss the pros and cons of this debatable question. When we look at positive aspects of children learning a foreign language at schools we can find a number of benefits. Firstly, children at an early age are generally curious and can easily learn a vast amount of information. More specifically, a children's brain is still in the phase of formation, which makes the absorption of the new information easier. Secondly, when kids learn a language they have an accent of a native speaker. For example, when a Russian speaker starts learning English in secondary school, most likely he/she will never be able to have the accent of a native English speaker. On the negative side, some people can claim that children have to focus on their own language first. However, coming from my personal experience I can say that for kids learning a language is much easier than we think. For instance, as a kid, I had to communicate in 3 different languages as well as with my peers. I had to speak Persian at home, Russian at school and Uzbek in the street. Subsequently, now I can communicate all these three languages on a native level. After all, people who speak several languages have improved memory, problem-solving and critical thinking skills, enhanced concentration and an ability to multitask. In short, I strongly believe that introduction of a foreign language can have a conducive effect on children's academic performance. In the long run, this will also benefit their careers and cognitive skills. Whereas, lessons should be tailored for younger ones to make learning a fun and joyful experience.