Many people think that every individual is responsible for their happiness, but some people believe there are other external factors that influence us. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Humankind has never been so gloomy about their lives. In this context, one side of society believes that the individual is the main source for their personal joy, whereas, others agree that it relies on circumstances outside their reach. I tend to agree that external factors are crucial for an enjoyable life, because how can one be happy in a war territory for example. On the one hand, there is a saying which is, that you will not be happy with another person if you are not happy alone. In other words, the individual should seek happiness on their own and not rely on others. For example, it is crucial to do what you enjoy in life and be around environments that are pleasant for yourself and not doing this because someone told you that they like. On the other hand, it is impossible to have everything you want in life. There are situations that demand money and other needs opportunities that are not there for all individuals. For instance, some people enjoy travelling, however, they cannot go wherever they like because of money. Additionally, some look for a great professional career but not everyone can be promoted and be a CEO in their jobs. As far as I am concerned, I believe that is difficult to be happy on your own. The majority needs to accomplish goals in their lives that require external factors. As an illustration, living in a country which is constantly at war or is not easy to have basic needs such as food and water will make you sad. Therefore, the pursuit of happiness is different for everyone and in most cases rely on the context they are in. In conclusion, I agree that one's joy is dependable on several circumstances. Although, a few can have it on their own, the vast majority will need luck and external help to change their environment.