Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people consider that the loss of individual species of flora and fauna is the main environmental problem in this modern world but for others, environmental issues are harmful effects of human activities on the biophysical environment. Environmental protection is a process of protecting the nature on the individual, organizational and governmental level for the benefit of us. Survival of the fittest is nature’s way of ruthlessly allowing weaker specimens to die out, although mankind has also contributed to falling numbers of animal through hunting and poaching. Attempts to preserve rare and dying species are carried out in zoos or other specialist plant nursery, through the process of breeding programs, preservation, asexual plant propagation, etc. and there was genuine sadness among many when the last white rhino died in 2018. However, the main focus of the environmental protection is debatable as climate change and excessive use of plastic are two major problems that deserve our attention. The effect of climate change is causing lot of consequence such as rising sea level which is associated with flooding of low-level land and gradually shrinking of habitable area of many countries and island communities. Another factor such as, ozone layer depletion causes increased UV radiation levels at the earth’s surface, which has negative effects on human health for example skin cancer, immunity deficiency etc. If the major contributors to climate change will not support the reduction of greenhouse gases, there is a little hope for the future. Naturalist have also begun to expose the serious problems causing from discarded plastic waste. Every year a large number of birds and animal are dying through being trapped or caught up in plastic bags or ropes. These plastic waste requires long process to decay which means they will remain as a threat for many years. For example sea creature are gulping small plastic particles that we humans are throwing at the beaches or sea, which affects them as well as all other creature in the same food chain. In conclusion, I strongly believe that the loss of particular and rare species of plants and animals are not major environmental issues. To fix the real problems many environmentalist have came up with new ideas like minimalistic and zero waste lifestyle, which in long run will ensure to maintain the life balance on earth.