Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Along with globalization, environmental issues are becoming the major concern of this planet. Some people consider that the loss of individual species of flora and fauna is the main environmental problem in this modern world but for others, environmental issues are harmful effects of human activities on the biophysical environment. In this essay, I will discuss both opinions and explain why I strongly support that there are several other issues that require immediate attention. Survival of the fittest is nature’s way of ruthlessly allowing weaker specimens to die out, although mankind has also contributed to falling numbers of animals through hunting and poaching. Attempts to preserve rare and dying species are carried out in zoos or other specialist plant nursery, through the process of breeding programs, preservation and asexual plant propagation. There was genuine sadness among many, for example, when the last white rhino died in 2018. However, the main focus of environmental protection is debatable as climate change and excessive use of plastic are two major problems that deserve our attention. There is another group, including me, who believes that the effects of climate change have a more severe consequence. The primary one is the rising of sea level. Due to global warming, the low-level lands are flooding and gradually shrinking of the habitable area in many countries and island communities. Islands of Sunderban, for instance, are disappearing from the face of the earth. Another factor is ozone layer depletion. This causes increased UV radiation levels at the earth’s surface, which has negative effects on human health. Skin cancer and immunity deficiency, for example, are the adverse effects of the same. To conclude, there are definitely special and rare species of flora and fauna which are at the edge of extinction and this is a genuine concern in today's time. However, in my opinion, there are certain concerns like depletion of the ozone layer and global warming, which if not addressed right away, there will be a little hope of a better future.