Some people think international car-free days are an effective way of reducing air pollution; however, others think there are some other ways. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, air pollution is more and more serious and has become an alarming issue globally. While international car-free days are thought to effectively reduce the level of air pollution, some other people believe there are alternative measures to tackle this issue. I will discuss both views and state my opinion in the essay. On the one hand, it is undeniable that a car-free day can reduce air contamination greatly. The reason is that emissions from cars are one of the main causes of air pollution because they contain a lot of harmful chemicals such as CO, NOx, HC, etc. These toxic fumes are not only harmful to human health but also contribute to the greenhouse effect and global warming. If a car-free campaign is launched on a global scale, no harmful smoke will be released into the atmosphere, and this will therefore improve air quality. Moreover, not being able to travel by personal car will encourage people to use other more environmentally friendly means such as a bicycle or public transports. This may change people's car usage habits in the long run. On the other hand, in addition to car-free days, there are many feasible and sustainable measures to reduce air pollution. One of the most effective ways is to research to use natural energy sources such as solar or wind power to replace gasoline in the long term. These are clean and environmentally friendly fuels, so when using vehicles running on these fuels, they will not pollute the air. Another solution for reducing air pollution is to impose higher taxes on cars or raise petrol prices in order to prevent individuals from using personal cars. In addition, the government could invest more in public transports and encourage people to use these eco-friendly vehicles instead of private cars. Last but not least, education is always a simple but effective measure. The government could invest more in education to raise people's awareness of environmental protection, thereby contributing to reducing acts of environmental destruction in general and polluting the air in particular. In conclusion, international car-free days are an effective way to solve air pollution, but the government also needs to simultaneously take other measures to tackle this problem.