A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Do you think that benefits of tourism outweight its drawbacks?

Nowadays, tourism has become the major highlight and it generates a significant portion of income in many countries around the world. I find this statement to show both sides, considering the advantages like recreation and employment and drawbacks such as natural destruction and fraud. The utmost advantage of tourism is that it provides the best source of recreation. During vacations, many families visit famous tourist places to reduce the work pressure and to increase family bondings. Secondly, it provides a large number of jobs to the people. Due to tourism, more and more hotels and amusement parks are constructed and they require humans for construction and operation. For instance, a research paper from the University of Toronto suggested that almost 35% of the nation's total employment is provided by this industry. This often results in higher job opportunities for humans in motels, hotel staff, tour guides and taxi services. On the other hand, while we consider the repercussions of this scenario are deforestation and cheatings with the tourists. The construction of tourists sites requires more space and land and this results in cutting down of forests and natural habitats of animals. Moreover, it is quite often seen that tour guides cheat international tourists. They sell maps of local sites at higher prices, encourage them to book costlier hotels and charge them higher taxi fares. For example, my uncle went to Thailand and he was looted by a local vendor. He was charged thrice for a $1 local map. In conclusion, tourism is the chief source of recreation which helps in strengthening of family relationships and it produces employment. However, it is also responsible for deforestation and increasing cheating rate. I believe that although it causes destruction and foul behaviour, the advantages of employment and leisure provided by tourism outweighs its disadvantages.