Violence in media promotes violence. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that nowadays the media frequently broadcasts violent content. Meanwhile, some people believe that this trend promotes violence in society. In this essay, I will explain why I do not agree with this idea. On average, people spend 3 to 4 hours watching TV every day; thus, It would be correct to say that everything promoted through the media affects people's behaviour. However, people perceive movies and other media content through their own understanding of what is right and what is wrong. More specifically, individuals predisposed to cruelty will be cruel regardless of the media exposure. Violent behaviour is a complex issue, with a host of different factors such as peer pressure, family environment, and etc. For example, it is well known that children imitate their parents. Subsequently, if parents are violent their children will more likely be like them. Secondly, there is a higher chance that people living in poverty and experiencing despair will become criminals rather than those who watch movies about criminals. On the negative side, cruelty in cartoons can be perceived by children as a normal reality, since they are still not able to differentiate between what is good and what is bad. Even so, I can say from my own experience that violence in the media did not make me cruel. For instance, I was always sorry for Jarry for frequently experiencing pain. To sum up, I would concede that violent content may harm the mental health of younger ones to some extend. Despite that, I am considered that the main cause of cruelty in society is not related to the media content.