Large companies often use sports events to promote their products. Some people think this has a negative impact in sports. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Big companies sometimes advertise their products or services by using sports events. Although advertising bad products could give a bad image to sports events, I totally agree that it is a great source of income and financial support. Prestigious companies should not use sports events to promote their products or services. The main reason is that advertisements for bad or harmful things, such as alcohol, can give a bad image for these sports events. For example, in 2002, Jah's company was a sponsor of the Golf Championship of the World in order to encourage the sale of their cigarettes. As a result, 23% of people did not want to join the event. Therefore, the advertisement of bad goods by using sports events has some negative effects on sports. On the other hand, it might have some advantages. Advertisements for products of prestigious companies via sports events would be financial support for sports. Sports events have a large audience and product sales may be increased by using advertising in sports events. So, sponsor companies pay a large amount of money to sports companies. Consequently, sports companies can purchase some sports equipment, branded sportswear, and so on. For instance, 61% of the income of the European Football Cup came from advertisements for Lays products. Thus, sports events should allow large companies to advertise their products. In conclusion, using sports events to promote powerful companies ' goods could give a bad image to sports. However, I agree that it is a big financial support for establishing sports events and also sports.