Write about the following topic. The internet has greatly increased our access to information. To what extent do you think this is a good thing? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Mobile phones and computers are ubiquitous these days. Residing in one corner of the world we get to know what is happening on the other end. And this has become possible through our modern technologies. Though the advancement in technology appears to be a boon, we need to watch out for the potholes. I will discuss the merits and demerits of our seemingly increased access to data in the following paragraphs. The Internet has consumed most of us. We are privileged people to have access to everything by a press of a button. Live news, daily weather forecast, political updates are some examples of technological advancement that has impacted us in a positive way. Any or most of these facilities were not available in the olden days. People had to wait a day or two for newspapers to reach their homes. The Internet has also created an impact in the education field. Students are able to see their scores and grades online instead of visiting their college or university. Graduates are able to apply and prepare for their jobs online and can avoid visiting the libraries for reference books. Even though we can argue that increased access to data has mitigated our problems and made our lives easier, it is imperative to know the same has affected lives gravely.Extended connection with information has made personal data easily available to the attackers. Attackers impersonate themselves as a different person, access the victim's bank details and use it to steal money. It is said that nearly 30% of crimes recorded by cybercrimes are due to data breach, morphing and misuse of personal data. Also bank frauds involving phishing, password stealing, cyberbullying has also been encountered enormously these days. To conclude, I feel though how much ever it excites us to live in a world of magic, the dark side of the internet is detrimental. It is always better to take precautions, protect our private data and be safe than to complain.