nowadays, many people cannot read or write. What problems does this cause? What measures can governments take to solve these problems?

Education is a basic necessity in today's life. However, a large part of society is still illiterate who cannot do simple things like reading or writing. While this phenomenon leads to several issues like increasing poverty and crime rates, there exist several possible ways to ameliorate the situation that this essay puts forward. To begin with, there are various problems that arise due to illiteracy. The primary issue is the rising poverty rate in the country. Indeed, as an illiterate person could not get a high standard job, he struggles for his basic necessities, resulting in a poor standard of living. This may impact his future generation also, as they could not afford to take education, which would ultimately increase the poverty ratio among society. Another serious consequence is that the crime rate rises. Certainly, due to the lack of basic skills like reading or writing, many youngsters remain unemployed, leading them to take desperate steps to survive and provide for themselves and their families. This may result in an increase in illegal activities like crime or drugs. These problems, however, can be tackled, and the government is responsible for giving solutions for this. Firstly, the government should provide free education to children who belong to low-income families. For example, if an illiterate person's child becomes literate, he could get a better job in the future, and his family's standard of living could become better. Ultimately, the poverty rate will decrease in the country as nobody would struggle for their daily necessities. Secondly, the government should introduce some basic training programs like electronics or mechanical workshops for uneducated youths. This training can help unemployed young people to get some work, and they will not commit any criminal activity to complete their needs. Overall, the crime rate will significantly fall down. In conclusion, illiteracy causes various issues like poor living conditions and rising illegal activities. However, if the government introduces facilities like free education and training workshops, these problems could get solved.