Some people say that the education system is the only critical factor in the development of a country. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It seems that developing nations is something that will never change. In this context there is a contentious debate where some individuals believe that with state-of-the-art schools and teachers is possible to break this barrier, whereas others disagree. Personally, I strongly disagree as a nation can only thrive investing in other important areas as well. First of all, there are several other factors that are needed for a nation to thrive, such as, health care, job opportunities or personal safety. For instance, Cuba is a country that has one of the best medicines schools in the world, nevertheless, it seems that the country stopped in time because of the terrible management by their government. Thus, I agree that education is just one of many important areas for a developing country. Likewise, even with great universities and health care some places still fail to develop. Take Brazil as an example. Although it has a reasonable education system with free tuitions in the best tertiary institutions making it available for all, people end up leaving the country because it is a dangerous place or lack fair wages for employees. Therefore, I believe that to achieve a well-developed country the government must invest in several crucial areas and not only in education. In conclusion, in my opinion, the countries that succeeded in our world invested in not just one area but in many. Because, with only schooled people and lacking safety, health or opportunities, individuals would leave for places that have all of these and need specialized employees.