Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time?

It is indeed that education has a predominant influence in society, especially on the young generation. Many high school graduates nowadays prefer to take a gap year before pursuing higher education. There are convincing arguments on the idea that it is a waste of valuable time, however, the benefits should also be put under equal consideration. First and foremost, a break before enrolling into university could assist in the accumulation of valuable experience, thus aiding them in their future decisions. Many individuals often do not have a clear interest or direction leading into university, as a result, it is challenging for them to select a suitable major. An extra year to accumulate crucial knowledge might help them have a clear vision and create a pathway to eventual success. Moreover, a gap year is also a method to release accumulated stress and be in a better mental state the following year. For instance, many youngsters decide to go on a road trip or a holiday for a stretch of time in order to recharge and prepare for the next year. On the other hand, the drawbacks that this trend cause should not be easily overlooked. Taking a break for one year might cause an obstruction in educational development. Going one year without revising previously learned knowledge could have detrimental effects since it could cause students to be unable to pass the university entrance exam test. To clarify, certain people take the period off to enjoy entertainment activities and distract their focus from education, hence them being unable to enrol into college entirely, making that gap year a waste of time. In conclusion, the utilization of the spare time of a gap year is essential in achieving future accomplishments. Many people are unaware of the major disadvantages of a one year break, which could prove to be devastating for their future. Parents and teacher should provide guidance for them to avoid stepping down the wrong path.