In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is predicted that printed newspapers and books will be supplanted by their online versions, which will be able to be accessed without paying. In my opinion, although I agree that printed newspapers and books will gradually disappear due to the convenience of modern technology, I believe that readers need to pay to read. Many people will incline towards online editions of newspapers and books because of the convenience it brings. It means that individuals do not need to bring along a huge newspaper or a thick book since they can read on their own portable and small devices such as smartphones, which is an indispensable part of people’s lives. For example, many books nowadays are available to be downloaded in the version of PDF or EPUB, and newspapers can be read directly on the publishers’ websites on their own phones. This will facilitate the knowledge-acquiring process as students or workers have the ability to read while they commute to their education institutions or workplaces. As a consequence, they will have more time to concentrate on their study or work and boost their productivity. Nonetheless, I disagree with the view that people can read without purchasing because it will make their source of information less accurate and lead to the degradation of the general quality of authors’ lives. First of all, when publishers do not force their readers to pay monthly or annual subscription fees, they will have less revenue. Therefore, they do not have an adequate amount of money to recruit professional journalists, resulting in the less informative and accurate articles, which may baffle the readers. Secondly, writing and publishing books is the only way for the authors to earn their living. If people read books without paying, the authors could not make their ends meet. Hence, this will decrease their living standard and cause them to give up their job. In conclusion, although online versions of newspapers and books will gain popularity because of its convenience, I think readers should not read without purchasing since it negatively affects the publishers and the authors. Governments and organizations should take concerted actions to avoid the act of reading ebooks and