in some countries more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. what are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

Nowadays it is important for increasingly more individuals in a few nations, to know the past of the home they are living in. This essay will outline the grounds for residents wanting to learn about the ancient records of their property. It will also outline the steps which they can use to carry out their search Firstly, residents who live in these old buildings search for past records because of curiosity piqued by sculptures, architectural designs such as high ceilings with corniced sides which are very eye-catching and intrigues people to know more about them. Evidence of these architectural features is like hitting a gold mine, because of the possibility such premises have of generating an extra income for owners through promoting them in local TV channels or social media or the hotel industry or the print media or even the film industry. For example, in Prayagraj, the Rewari Raja’s castle has been restructured and converted into 25 dwellings in the form of two-storeyed apartments. This repurposing of a heritage building has brought in rental to the family of the Rewari Raja which will last them for years. An additional possibility is when an old house exhibits signs of being haunted. In such a case, inhabitants would then gather some phenomenological data to confirm their suspicions. For instance, in India, such portions of buildings would be cordoned off by the family to avoid any mishaps. This kind of behaviour was the theme of a Bollywood blockbuster called 'Bhool Bhulaiyaa'. Now, as far as research is concerned, a method of doing so involves google search. However, this step may not be very reliable and therefore an individual should endeavour to contact the local record authorities to find authentic information on the antecedents of a building. They might even get in touch with municipal offices for engineering evaluations to ascertain the structural strength of a building for restructuring into a hotel or an apartment complex. These are usually the steps that are adopted by people who live in historical buildings to prove the historicity of their residences. In conclusion, inhabitants of very historical cities and countries are discovering new ways of generating income through their residential premises and they have research to back their findings by investigating the history of their property.