Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products. What problems does this cause? What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

Huge businesses have considerable funding for marketing and promotion and consequently, people get attracted towards purchasing their products. Firstly, it will discuss the causes of buying the items from big corporations and secondly, the steps to encourage the public to buy local products. Breakthroughs in the world of brands have already brought tremendous changes in all walks of human life, the world over. Although the local businesses have good quality products, international fashion and brands had swept away their businesses. In addition, this can lead to some serious issues such as the closure of the local businesses, unemployment and monopoly in the market. According to a survey, a team of researchers have found that consumers are wasting $641 million online buying unwanted branded goods. Awareness of the local products is one of the most important factors in the development of the individual, in particular, should be given top priority. Consumers prefer to buy things that have a brand logo and influenced by international trends; however, it is vital to make people aware of creative and deceptive advertisements and marketing policies of the big players who create a monopoly in the market to trap consumers. Not only the government should keep an eye on deceptive advertisements but also should take some measures on the same. To cite an example, many international clothing and brands have dominated local businesses in many Asian countries, including mine, where money spent on advertisement played a big role. To conclude, large businesses can have many negative effects on local businesses as well as on the economy of our country. A solution to this problem is systematising local markets to have an effective outcome and government should help them financially.