Tourism has increased so much over the last 50 years that it is having a mainly negative impact on local inhabitants and the environment. However, others claim that it is good for the economy. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of tourism and give your own opinion

Nowadays visiting new places is easier and cheaper. Although many countries have benefited economically from tourism, some people consider that this can have a negative effect on the environment of the city and its population. Generally speaking, tourism is an essential asset for many countries and cities which would be damage without it. Many small places are receiving an extremely high number of tourists every year and this makes cities overcrowded. For example, on the different occasions I have visited Venice the streets were always very busy and people needed to wait to cross through small bridges. This situation could make locals very stressed especially if they encounter big groups of tourists in every journey of their day. The environment is another big problem connected to this massive growth of the touristic sector, in,fact while locals care about the condition of their own towns many tourists do not show respect for the place they are visiting. For example, my family who lives in the seaside have often complained that visitors who come to the beach left plastic bottle and waste food in the sand. Despite the fact that tourism can have a bad impact on the lives of locals and the environment, at the same time many of these cities depend on the tourist sector. Closing the door to tourists would cause much higher damage to local businesses who live of that. For instance, in my,town this would mean that hotels, restaurants and surf shops should close. Thus would general a huge economic crisis. In conclusion, even though we can say that tourism has a lot of negative aspects, the high economic support that gives to some places overweight the disadvantages.