The cost of public transport has been rapidly rising over the past decade. what are the reasons for this? what are some possible solutions?

There is no doubt that the escalation in the fare of public transit has become a concerning issue in many countries over the period of ten years. There is a number of reasons behind this problem, which can be solved by taking some initiatives. The most significant cause is a rise in fuel prices which directly put impacts the fare of public transport. For example, this happens due to the less supply of fuel because of the corona and the war between Ukraine and Russia. In addition to this, most people own cars which reduces the demand for public transit among passengers. Obviously, the number of people in the buses and trains increases the ticket prices as owners want to get some profit over the expenditure on fuel and repair of vehicles. In the present, Canada, for instance, where the transit ticket prices are almost doubled in comparison to ten years ago. It is necessary to encourage people in regards to use public vehicles. Firstly, public transport should be under the government sector, because government funds can be used to improve existing public vehicles and invest in the terms of new buses and trains. Moreover, compensation for the fare of public transport would be a great idea to encourage people, especially students and senior citizens. Reasonable ticket prices might make some differences in the terms of affordability and convenience. To conclude, even though the rise in fuel prices is the main reason behind the expensive tickets to travel in buses and trains,it could be solved by improving the transportation system and making it affordable for everyone.