Some people believe that it is a good idea to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

Many people hold that knowledge is extremely valuable to be free, while others point out that sharing information is crucial and should be openly published. I strongly agree with the former position, and I will present reasons to defend my opinion. To commence with, it can be argued that research findings can help to make prosperous countries, which clearly is a benefit. It is certainly true that education is one the most fundamental factors to develop societies, and a well-educated society can be achieved through the creation and expansion of knowledge. Take for example Germany, a wealthy country with a high standard of education, which has invested in research and has implemented public policies to guarantee that all its citizens can access freely to information. Nevertheless, I firmly believe that the advantages are outweighed by the drawbacks. Firstly, scientists and academics are facing a massive number of problems as they do not receive money either from private organisations or governments. The audience normally does not know that researchers have to afford by themselves financial and human resources to conduct a project. It is totally unfair that they are not rewarded economically for their contributions. Secondly, in the past years, researchers had to grapple to patent their works as many people wanted to steal their ideas. Nowadays there are international laws to protect copyright, which have led to recognise the time and efforts of those who have published new information. For instance, pharmaceutical laboratories worked hard to find vaccines to cure the coronavirus and therefore they deserve to earn money for their findings. Summing up, both viewpoints have their merits. However, I am convinced that those who have spent their precious time and motivation on their ideas need to be recognised. Steps should be taken by national and international authorities to compensate researchers.