Some people think that it is a waste of time for high school students to study literature, such as novels and poems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is an inevitable fact that education plays a pivotal role in moulding one's life. While some people believe that subjects like poetry should be part of the secondary education curriculum for the overall development of students, others argue that it is a sheer waste of money, time and efforts. This essay agrees that novels and poems should be integrated into the intermediate education syllabus for the well-being of pupils. First and foremost, topics like literature add meaning to life. For example, while studying these, it might bring out hidden talents, mainly learners' creativity. Also, it boosts their verbal and non-verbal communication skills, and undergraduates can express their thoughts and ideas after inculcating this wisdom. Moreover, it undoubtedly helps adolescent to respite from the arduous study of maths, chemistry and physics. Besides, it teaches moral values such as empathy and compassion. However, despite having apparent benefits, some people reckon it is worthless to blend poetry into the high school curriculum. In addition, it does not have tangible benefits. For instance, when an academy imparts knowledge to students rather than recreational activities, it unquestionably assists them to grab plum job for their future growth. Notwithstanding, literature not only boosts the power of imagination but also develop aesthetic values in pupils. Besides, several studies have revealed that learners achieve higher academic grades who practice poem and novels. In conclusion, although other topics such as science are of paramount importance in the present competitive era for their better future growths, recreational activities unquestionably instil personality traits such as sympathy, kindness and generosity for pupils holistic development. Therefore, it appears that reading literature in senior high school is best for the welfare of society.