Some people think that the government should spend more money on public services rather than wasting it on arts. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary day and age, the importance of public services is undeniable. Therefore, some people believe that governments should fund public services such as health care and transportation rather than arts. Personally, I agree that civil services need more funding, but the money should not be taken from the arts. The following paragraphs would highlight my personal perspective along with relevant examples. Firstly, the development of rural and suburban transportation can tackle the issue of overpopulation in cities and facilitate the development of the economy. For example, in our everyday life, we can see how people move from rural areas to cities, one of the main reasons for this issue is poor transportation facilities. Additionally, good conditions in public transports would help to minimize traffic jams in urban streets. Shifting towards health care - it is one of the basic human rights and the greatest asset of a nation. For that reason, governments should focus on funding the medicine sector primarily. For instance, some people can not afford to pay for health care services. Subsequently, investment into public health would facilitate a healthy generation. However, the aforementioned sectors cannot be funded from the money allocated for arts. Because art is a way to express a unique history and culture of a nation. Moreover, art is already poorly funded; thus, if governments stop funding at all, some of the artworks may be gone obsolete. Overall, I agree that funding public services by governments has overriding importance on many levels. At the same time, I am considered that the money should not be taken from the arts. Instead, governments can limit the budget for various showcase projects such as military parades.