People believe that some individuals are born with leadership skills, while others think that leadership skills can be made. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Leadership skills play a vital role in the path to success. It is argued by some that leadership is an inherent skill, whereas, others believe that it can be acquired over time. In this essay, I will examine both views and give my opinion. Certain individuals do not need to learn leadership skills because it comes naturally to them. This can be attributed to factors such as genetics and their upbringing. For instance, although the former captain of the Indian cricket team, MS Dhoni had never led any team before he was given the captaincy of the national team, he seamlessly transitioned into the role, and did not have to be taught. This is probably because he was born with the required temprament and mindset. On the contrary, some leaders had to learn how to lead. Despite not being equipped with the tools to lead since birth, they managed to pick up bits and pieces of knowledge from sources available to them, like from books or interviews. For example, in a recent televison talk show, Jeff Bezoz, the founder of Amazon stated that initially, he did not know how to manage or lead his employees but as his company got bigger and the stakes got higher, he was forced to step up as a boss and for that, he had to learn how to lead effectively. This is to say that he was not always a skilled leader. To conclude, while some are leaders since birth, some are made along the way. In my opinion, anyone with the drive to motivate other people can learn to do so at any point in their lives.